Sudbury All Saints with Ballingdon and Brundon, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes  

Guide to Sudbury All Saints with Ballingdon and Brundon, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sudbury All Saints with Ballingdon and Brundon, Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford; Sudbury Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Sudbury PLU
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sudbury
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SUDBURY ALL SAINTS with BALLINGDON and BRUNDON is also known as BALLINGDON, it is aparish, in the union of Sudbury, the hundred of Hinckford,and N. division of Essex, it is ½ a mile (S. W. by W.) from Sudbury. After the decay of the parochial church, the village of Ballingdon, which had been previously only a chapelry in the parish of Brundon, became the head of the parish.  The inhabitants resort to the church of All Saints, Sudbury, and contribute towards the church-rate of that parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration


Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sudbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Sudbury Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist (Suffolk)
  • Independent/Congregational (Suffolk)
  • Presbyterian (Suffolk)
  • Society of Friends/Quaker (Suffolk)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851


Web sites

Sudbury on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted 4 June 2013
  2. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 June 2015, at 21:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,265 times.