Suffolk HistoryEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The Suffolk Traveller: or, A journey through Suffolk; 1735 By John Kirby
General View of the Agriculture of the County of Suffolk: drawn up for Consideration of the Board of Agriculture and Internal Improvement (Google eBook) By Arthur Young, Board of Agriculture (Great Britain), 1797. 314 pages
- Population Study 1776 to 1795; pages 279 to 286
General view of the agriculture of the county of Suffolk: drawn up for the consideration of the Board of Agriculture and Internal Improvement (Google eBook) Arthur Young, Great Britain. Board of Agriculture; Printed for Sherwood, Neely, and Jones, 1813. 432 pages
On the agriculture of Suffolk Including the Report to which the Prize was awared by the Royal Agricultural Society of England (Google eBook) By William Raynbird, Hugh Raynbird, 1849. 324 pages
Suffolk in the Nineteenth Century Physical, Social, Moral, Religious and Industrial; (Google ebook) By John Glyde Jun., 1856; 396 pages
Website - The Song of the Emigrant Ship
Historical Timeline of Events Specific to Suffolk
Events in English history that relate to Suffolk. For more detail, see England History Page.
- 500 Suffolk was part of the kingdom of East Anglia which was settled by the Angles
- 1017 East Anglia was absorbed into the kingdom of England. Norfolk and Suffolk became part of the new earldom of East Anglia
- 1531 Henry VIII recognized as head of the newly created Church of England. All ties with the Pope and the church in Rome severed.
- 1538 to 1812 For Events Effecting Church Records
- 1642-1660 Civil War took place in England. Charles I was executed in 1649. Oliver Cromwell became Lord Protector of England. Bishop's courts were abolished. Civil war caused political and religious upheaval. Parish registers were poorly kept. Many other changes affected record keeping.
- 1660 Charles II was restored as monarch, ending civil strife. Bishop's courts were restored.
- 1733 English replaced Latin in official records.
- 1756-1765 The first English navigation canals appeared. The industrial revolution began, and cities grew with the invention of the steam engine and the spinning jenny.
- 1803-1815 The Napoleonic Wars occurred. Numerous battles across Europe involved 365,000 British soldiers and 300,000 seamen. These battles included the Peninsular Wars in Portugal and Spain. When the wars ended, the soldiers returned to Britain to find that many traditional occupations had been eliminated by the Industrial Revolution.
- 1830 The first railways appeared in England.
- 1834 Poor law unions took poor relief responsibilities away from parishes. Workhouses were established.
- 1837 Civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths began on 1 July. However, events could still be recorded in parish registers. Bishops' transcripts were kept less frequently. Queen Victoria reigned from 1837 to 1901. First missionaries of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints began preaching in the Preston, Lancashire area.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 04:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,568 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News