Suldal, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngRogaland County Gotoarrow.png Suldal

Guide to Suldal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Contents

Church Records

Records begin in 1778 for Suldal clerical district. They contain priest and sexton records from Suldal, Sauda and Røldal parishes. Sauda parish was moved to Sand clerical district in 1858, and Røldal parish was made a parish in the newly established Røldal clerical district in 1885. Also include records for Nesflaten chapel, which has kept its own records (klokkerbok) from 1900. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet.

Suldal: 1758, 1885-1916

Suldal / Suldal: 1777-1900

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Suldal Microfilm

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt II Database

  • 1701 Census (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 Suldal Microfilm

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

  • 1801 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Suldal Microfilm

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Suldal clerical district includes Suldal, Saude, and Røldal now in Hordaland county parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Saledahl Database

  • 1865 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Suldal Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Suledal Database

  • 1875 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Suldal Microfilm

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

1875-teljinga for Suldal] Database

  • 1900 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Suldal Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Suldal Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

1910 Census search at Digitalarkivet


Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Suldal police station
*1892-1977 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Books

A genealogy of the people and their farms in Suldal in Rogaland county with a brief history of the earlier times.

Hoftun, Hallvard M., "Gamle Suldal: gards- og ættesoge," Suldal: Utgjevar Suldal kommune, 1972. 948.31/S6 D2h FHL INTL Book

The index includes all "hovedpersoner" (head of household) that appear in the farm lists. Children are not included. Alphabetical by first name and patronymic.

Waula, Jørg Eirik, "Gamle Suldal Gards- og ættesoge Personregister," Suldal: Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1995 948.31/S6 D2h index FHL INTL Book

Farm Names

55 Aarhus 52 Austeraa 61 Avinskei 41 Bakke 32 Berge 11 Berjorden 49 Birkenes 67 Bleskestad 56 Braatveit 63 Bratland 9 Bækkene 30 Fisketjøn 6 Fjelberg 15 Flaatenes 1 Foss 3 Førland 12 Galland 59 Gautetun 54 Gugdal 60 Haugen 51 Havrevold 37 Helgenes 4 Herabakke 7 Hjorteland 29 Hoftun 68 Jordebrekke 40 Ketilstad 47 Klungtveit 36 Kolbeinstveit 2 Kvæstad 53 Lali 18 Li 46 Lillehammer 41 Lofthus 25 Lunde 28 Mehus 62 Midtlien 5 Mo 34 Moen 48 Moklev 21 Mork 9 Mæland 69 Nordmork 10 Næreim 27 Præstegaarden 13 Ritland 65 Roaldkvam 64 Rossemyr 58 Sandviken 31 Skarstølheien 39 Slagstad 42 Soleim 43 Steinbru 22 Steine 31 Straape 42 Sukka 26 Sørestad 35 Tjøredalen 24 Tjøsteim 62 Tornes 66 Tufteskog 50 Tveit i Hamrebø 19 Tveitene nedre 23 Underbakke med Rød 45 Vaage 44 Vaarvik 59 Vallareviken 17 Vallskaar 14 Vashus 34 Veke 57 Vetrhus 16 Vidvei 33 Vik 34 Vikene 38 Øiestad 8 Ørekvam


HALLVARD M. HOFTUN:  GARDS OG ÆTTESOGE:

AUSTARÅ, Austaråbøen, Utabjå, BAKKA, Gunvorbakken, Kjetilstadbakken, Litlevik, Målet, Ruskebøen, Saubakken, Stien, BERGE, Lia, Rabben, BERGJORD, Gallandsbakkane, Haugen, BLESKESTAD, Hagen, Haugen, Holene, Juvet, Røysa, Træet, BRATLAND, Garlagemyra, Rinden, Sankahaugen, Ura, Ørebekken, BRÅTVEIT, Kleppaskårlia, Kverneflota, BØRKJENES, FISKETJØN, Brakabakken, Hagen, Hamaren, Jensaplasset, Osen, Sjuramoen, FJELLBERG, Fjellbergbakkane, Leitet, FLOTNES, Flotnesstøa, Løyning, FOSS, Fossbakkane, Høgamo, Kvamen, Tueteigen, FØRLAND, Førlandshagen, Førlandsmoen, GALLAND, Gallandsbakkane, Garbru, Haugane, GAUTUN, Baksmett, Bismarvik, Båshaug, Dalen, Gurograv, Lia, Moatræ, Moen, Ospehaugen, Raudskred, Røysane, Skåra, Stålevik, Vallarvik, GUGGEDAL, Bakken, Bøen (Torabø), Djuvik, Smeavika, Spekevika, Tverrli, HAUGEN, Kilen, Moen, Årnes, HAVREVOLL, Dalarteigen, Falkelia, Hamneflota, Kleiva, Vikane, HELGANES, Skogen, Soveflota, Stavanes, HERABAKKA, Bakkane, Bjørkemoen, Hagane, Haugane, HJORTELAND, HOFTUN, Oddamoen, Raunehaugen, Øyanes, JORDEBREKK, Hagen (Kalhagen), Juvet, Tangen, KJETILSTAD, Tangen, KLUNGTVEIT, KOLBEINSTVEIT, Kalhagen, Sundet, Ørevik, KVÆSTAD, Brua, Kvæstadbøen, Kvæstadteigen, LALI, Bordalen, Lalibakken, Storevik, LI, LITLEHAMAR, Myra, Tufta, Vika, LOFTHUS, Bakken, Bjørkebakken, Bruteigen, Østensplasset, Øvrabø, LUNDE, Bøen, Kolgaren, Moen, MEHUS, Haugen, Rogntveit, MELAND, Bekkene, Holmatræ, Holmen, Lykkja, Skrapet, MO, Haugen, Luren, Ormaleet, Teigane, Teigen, Viketeigen, MOKLEIV, Kalhagen, Lund, Moen, MORK, Jørgensplasset, Stokkatveit, Træ, NORDMORK, Dynjaren, Grindabøen, Kugrav, Kvernehaugen, Øvrabø, NÆRHEIM, Brua, Nærheimsmoen, OVERSKEID, Overskeidsmoen, Røynevarden, Røynevardlia, RITLAND, Haukedalsmoen, Litlanes, Ritlandsbakken, Ritlandshagane, Skarmyr, ROALKVAM, Holmen, Kvamen, Ripelen, Runnane, Øyno, ROSSEMYR, Rossemyrhagen, Rossemyrstien, SANDVIK, Lågastein, Natskår, SLAGSTAD, Bøen, Lia, Træ, Øvrabø, STEINBRU, Ivarflota, Kaggen, Strandanes, Vika, Ørevik, Øyane, STEINE, Steinsbrauta, Steinsbøen, STRÅPA, Midtbakken, Teigen, SUKKA, Brunn (Brunnabakken), Bruflota, Solheim, STUV, Solheim, SØRESTAD, Bøen, Runnane, Teigen, TJORDAL, Røyredalen, Seltveit, TJØSTHEIM, Bergene, Brauta, Kro, Kyrkjereina, Salomonsplasset, Sundvoll, Turkevoll, TORNES, Bøen, Kleppeflota, Øyane, TUFTESKOG, Dokka, Plasset, Å-i-mellom, TVEIT i HAMRABØ, Øvrabø, Øvrabøbråtet, TVEITANE (nedre), Vika, TVEITANE (øvre), Rabben, UNDERBAKKA, Hamaren, Høljebrekk, Moen, Risebøen, Rød, Rødslia, VALSKÅR, Havnen, Lia, Sagbakkane, Støa, Åbø, VASSHUS, VEKA, Brustveit, Eskedalen, Mosbakken, Vekamoen, Vikane, VETRHUS, Haugane, Teigen, VIDVEI, Eidet, Kleiva, Laberget, Marastøa, Torsvik, Upsa, Vidveihagen, VIK, VINJE, Mellom-moen, Nedre Moen, Prestevika, Øvre-Moen, VÅGE, Røsselia, Vågsvika, VÅRVIK, ØREKVAM, Langkoven, ØYSTAD, Halvfjerdvik, Haugen, Skogen, Storhaug, ÅRHUS, Svortebekk. 

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 19:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,644 times.