Sumner County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sumner County, Kansas)

Sumner County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Sumner County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Sumner County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Sumner County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Wellington
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Sumner County Courthouse
500 N. Washington Ave.
Wellington, Kansas 67152-4096
Phone: 316.326.3395

Contents

County Courthouse

Sumner County Courthouse
500 N Washington
Wellington, KS 67152
Phone: 316.326.3395

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Clerk has land records. [1]

History

The Chisholm Trail entered Kansas south through Caldwell and moved northeastward missing Wellington by 7 miles to the west. The trail that hosted cattle travel from the 1860’s well into the 1870’s was virtually abandoned as settlers staked out homesteads diverting cattle to the West. The Santa Fe Railroad brought the Trail back to life when the railroad came to Caldwell in 1880. [2]

  • Kansas: A Cyclopedia of State History, Embracing Events, Institutions, Industries, Counties, Cities, Towns, Prominent Persons, Etc.. [3]

Parent County

1867--Sumner County was created 26 February 1867 from Butler and Marion Counties. County seat: Wellington [4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

  • Argonia
  • Belle Plaine
  • Caldwell
  • Conway Springs
  • Geuda Springs (partly in Cowley County)
  • Hunnewell
  • Mayfield
  • Milan
  • Mulvane
  • Oxford
  • South Haven
  • Wellington

Unincorporated Communities

  • Anson
  • Ashton
  • Corbin
  • Dalton
  • Drury
  • Milton
  • Peck (partly in Sedgwick County
  • Perth
  • Portland
  • Riverdale
  • Rome
  • Suppesville

Ghost towns

  • Adamsville
  • Cicero
  • Doster
  • Ewell[12]
  • Metcalf
  • Roland
  • Sumner City
  • Zyba

Neighboring Counties

Kssumner.jpg


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sumner County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


A Portrait and biographical album of Sumner County, Kansas containing full page portraits and biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county... (1885) is available online free from Google Books. Parts I and II contain biographies of the U.S. presidents and Kentucky governors. Part III (starts about p.160) contains biographies of Sumner County residents.

Maps

Railroad Map from 1915 to 1918

Military

  • Sumner County was organized after the Civil War began. Please see Butler and Marion counties for Civil War records

Newspapers

  • Belle Plaine News - 431 N. Merchant Belle Plaine Ks 67013 620-488-2234
  • Caldwell Messenger - 111 S. Main P.O. Box 313 Caldwell Ks 67022 620-845-2320
  • Conway Springs Star - Argonia Argosy - 214 W. Spring Conway Springs Ks 620-456-2473
  • Mulvane News - 204 W. Main Mulvane Ks 67110 ~ 620-777-4233
  • Oxford Register 110 E. Myrtle Oxford Ks 67119 ~ 620 455 3535
  • South Haven New Era South Haven Ks
  • Wellington Daily News 113 W. Harvey / Wellington, KS 67152 (620) 326-3326

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sumner County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Sumner and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Sumner County Genealogical Society In 2001 the Sumner County Historical Society and the Sumner County Genealogy Society voted to merge the two societies.

Sumner County Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 402
Wellington, Ks 67152

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sumner County, Kansas page 256, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Chisholm Trail
  3. Frank Wilson Blackmar Kansas: A Cyclopedia of State History, Embracing Events ..., Volume 1 Google Books
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2015, at 16:15.
  • This page has been accessed 5,885 times.