Sunderland St John, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sunderland St John, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Sundeerland St John, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sunderland St John, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sunderland Town
County Durham
Poor Law Union Sunderland PLU
Registration District Sunderland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1875
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SUNDERLAND (Holy Trinity), a sea-port, newly enfranchised borough, and parish, and the head of a union, in the N. division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 13 miles (N. E.) from Durham, and 269 (N. by W.) from London; The chapel of St. John, was built in 1769. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1875-1965 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SU/SJ)

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Sunderland are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  •  Deptford 1845-1948 (EP/Su.SA & EP/BiW).
  •  Grangetown 1907-1981 (EP/Gra).
  •  Hendon, St. Ignatius 1889-1968 (EP/SuSIg).
  • Hendon, St. Paul 1852-1969 (EP/Su.SPa).
  •  Middle Hendon 1876-1967 (EP/Su.SB).
  •  Pallion, St. Luke 1869-1975 (EP/Pa)

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241359.


Poor Law Unions

Sunderland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sunderland on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 03:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,745 times.