Sunningdale, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sunningdale, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Sunningdale, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sunningdale, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cookham; Godley; Ripplesmere; Woking
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Windsor PLU
Registration District Windsor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1836
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SUNNINGDALE, a chapelry partly in Old Windsor, Egham, and Sunninghill parishes, Berks, and partly in Chobham and Windlesham parishes, Surrey. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Sunningdale, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
Sunningdale, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined

Original records for this parish are held at the Berkshire County Record Office, Reading. Microfilms of these records are available through the Family History Library and a local Family History Center. These can now be ordered online and sent to your nearest Family History Center.

Non-Conformist Churches

Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sunningdale in GENUKI

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,028 times.