Sutton Bridge, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sutton Bridge, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Sutton Bridge, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton Bridge, Lincolnshire
St+Matthew Sutton+Bridge Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Matthew Sutton+Bridge Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Holbeach PLU
Registration District Holbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sutton-Bridge, St. Matthew's church, is in the early English style, and consists of a chancel, nave, north and south aisles, and a tower at the west end; the first stone was laid in July 1841. [1]

Sutton Bridge St Matthew is the only flintstone church in the county of Lincolnshire and was consecrated on 29 August 1843. The ecclesiastical parish was created from Sutton St Mary, Lincolnshire Ancient Parish. The ecclesiastical parish included the civil parish of Central Wingland, Norfolk

Within the Sutton Bridge parish the mission church of Guy's Head St Phillip Mission church was built in 1869.

The neighbouring parish of Terrington St Clement, Norfolk forms the county boundary across the River Nene from this parish. St. Matthew, Sutton Bridge is a in the Parish of Long Sutton (St Mary).

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of Holbeach registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Long Sutton Sutton St Mary, Lincolnshire registers are needed for pre 1841 events for this location.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Sutton Bridge Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton Bridge

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438754.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Holbeach Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/SuttonBridge/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 01:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,329 times.