Sutton cum Duckmanton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Sutton Cumduckmanton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton cum Duckmanton, Derbyshire
St Mary SCDuckmanton.jpg
St Mary SCDuckmanton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chesterfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

SUTTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Chesterfield; containing, with the merged parish of Duckmanton. Duckmanton church, now demolished, was dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sutton cum Duckmanton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Sutton cum Duckmanton St Peter (1662) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1662-1912

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1668-1868 Mar 1668-1837 Burials 1668-1868

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241298.

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Sutton cum Duckmanton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 271-274. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 12:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,854 times.