Sutton under Brailes, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes


Sutton under Brailes, Warwickshire
Sutton under Brailes Warwoickshire contributor Michael Dibb.jpg

Contents

Parish History

SUTTON-UNDER-BRAILES (St Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Shipston, hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 5 miles (S. E.) from Shipston; containing 232 inhabitants.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sutton under Brailes, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
SUTTON UNDER BRAILES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
AC 1850-1874 1850-1874
BOYD
1578-1812

FREG 1578-1812
JOIN

1578-1811


PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Gloucestershire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 00:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,730 times.