Swingfield, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Swingfield, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Swingfield St Peter Kent contributor Adam Hicks.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Swingfield is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent.

Swingfield St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and included Reinden; when the church was declared redundant the parish was absorbed into that of Acrise, Kent St Martin.

The redundant parish church of St Peter St Peter's Church Swingfield Wikipedia is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust Churches Conservation Trust website

The Parish church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 120-126. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online  and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Swingfield, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Swingfield, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1698-1891 1698-1891 1736-1928 (Banns) 1736-1928 (Banns) 1698-1940 1698-1940

England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue England Easy collection Indexing Project Batch 100354-3 Incorrect parish names entered also affects Westbere, Kent, Ripple, KentRamsgate Holy Trinity, Kent Error caused by incorrect place data entry field for four parishes in items on same film.

Land Tax

Images for Lydden and Swingfield are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

The images are derived from 1987 microfilming of Kent Archives reference Q/RPL/377 which contains only Swingfield parish returns. There appears to be an error in the way point.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SWINGFIELD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Folkestone, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (N.) from Folkestone. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 289-292. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,190 times.