Swinton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png North Riding Gotoarrow.pngSwinton

Contents

Parish History

SWINTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Appletonle-Street, union of Malton, wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York, 2¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Malton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Swinton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestory.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SWINTON CHAPELRY (1785) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1785-1900

1808-1899

None

JMI None

None

None

ANC (£) None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

AO None

None

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Swinton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Appletonle-Street to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Appleton-le-Street parish page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464235.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 289-292. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 April 2014, at 03:04.
  • This page has been accessed 682 times.