Tŷ Croes, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tŷ Croes, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngTŷ Croes

A guide to genealogy in Tŷ Croes, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Tŷ Croes is a village in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

There were no places of worship in the village pre-1870 and people had to walk either to St. Edith's Church in Llanedi or the chapels in Ammanford (then known as Cross Inn) or to Capel Hendre and Saron. It was in 1876 that the first chapels were built; Moriah (Congregational) was the 'daughter' of Christian Temple Ammanford and Caersalem (Calvinistic Methodist) was the 'daughter' of Capel Hendre. Then at the earlier part of this century Bethesda (Baptist) was built in 1913 and building work commenced at St. Edmund's Church on the 29th January, 1914. Later in 1932 the Neuadd Efengylu, locally known as the Mission Hall or Gospel Hall, was opened. [1]

References

  1. Wikipedia

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 447 times.