Taddington, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Taddington, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Taddington, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Taddington, Derbyshire
Taddington St Michael & All Angels Derbyshire.jpg
Taddington St Michael & All Angels Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Taddington, is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1748 from a chapelry in Bakewell, Derbyshire, an Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Blackwell. There is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Taddington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Taddington St Michael (1642) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1642-1860 None None None
FS PR's
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1670-1868 Mar 1670-1827 Burials 1670-1868 Missing Bap/Bur 1865

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Taddington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 294-297. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 916 times.