Talk:Danish Genealogical Words beginning with FEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Danish Word List
Thanks for the word lists. It helps. However, I have found it difficult to find many of the words I am looking for. Part of the problem for me is that I can't always tell what the first letter is. A way to search for the words using other letters would be helpful. Also, a list of the headings for the various census records would be appreciated. I have difficulty figuring out the typewritten letters and comparing them to your word lists. Quite often the spelling I think it is, is not in your word list. I don't know if it just isn't there or if I am reading it wrong.
Thanks for your efforts to assist us in reading Danish and researching Denmark.
Reading the records can be difficult for different reasons. The style of handwriting can be a challenge depending on the time period. Here are a couple ideas:
Think of the style of handwriting as a font. It takes time to get used to the font, especially when the author is not consistent, but when it really comes down to it, the style is just a font. FamilySearch has created 3 online classes to introduce people to the older handwriting see: https://www.familysearch.org/learningcenter/results.html?fq=place%3A%22Scandinavia%22
The second thing that would really help is to work on expanding your vocabulary (which you are doing using the word lists.) You do not need to learn the whole Danish language, but we are constantly trying to figure out the unknown based upon the known. The word lists in the FamilySearch Wiki is a good start. One of the challenges is Danish has fewer words than English. The Danes combine a lot of words to express meaning, then we look at it as one word and cannot find it in a dictionary or word list.
As far as census headings, scroll down on the Denmark: Census page in the FamilySearch Wiki at: https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Denmark:_Census
Hope this helps.
MorrisGF 16:34, 12 September 2012 (UTC)
- This page was last modified on 12 September 2012, at 16:34.
- This page has been accessed 290 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News