Tallapoosa County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Tallapoosa County

Guide to Tallapoosa County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Tallapoosa County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1832
County Seat Dadeville
Courthouse
Tallapoosa County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Tallapoosa County Courthouse
125 North Broadnax
Dadeville, AL 36853
Phone: (256) 825-1098
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has a few birth and death records 1881-1991
Marriage and probate records from 1835
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records[1]

History

90 acres of land were swapped between Tallapoosa and Coosa Counties in 1963.

Parent County

1832--Tallapoosa County was created 18 December 1832 from the Creek Cession of 1832.
County seat: Dadeville [2]

Boundary Changes

90 acres were swapped between Tallapoosa and Coosa Counties in 1963.[1]

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Altallapoosa.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

Biography

Cemeteries

Additional Tallapoosa County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18406,444
185015,584141.8%
186023,82752.9%
187016,963−28.8%
188023,40138.0%
189025,4608.8%
190029,67516.6%
191031,0344.6%
192029,744−4.2%
193031,1884.9%
194035,27013.1%
195035,074−0.6%
196035,007−0.2%
197033,840−3.3%
198038,67614.3%
199038,8260.4%
200041,4756.8%
201041,6160.3%
For tips on accessing Tallapoosa County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

  • The original land grants for Tallapoosa county, Alabama have been mapped and are available for free from Deed Mappers. Requires the Deed Mapper Software to use.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Tallapoosa County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Golden, Virginia Noble. A History of Tallassee for Tallasseeans. Tallassee, Ala.: Tallassee Mills of Mount Vernon-Woodberry Mills, 1949. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Tallapoosa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Tallapoosa County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company C
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D "Pearsons Dragoons"
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company F
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (Tallapoosa Rifles)
- 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 14th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "Hillabee Blues"
- 14th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Jackson Avengers"
- 34th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, E, F and G
- 37th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B
- 47th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, B, C, D, F, G and K
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tallapoosa County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Tallapoosa County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Tallapoosa County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Tallapoosa County is in District 2.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1834-1845, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Tallapoosa County has two books with a working link to one:

Societies and Libraries

Societies

Tallapoosa County Historical Society
151 Pearson Circle
Dadeville, AL 36853

Libraries

Horseshoe Bend Regional Library includes the following libraries in Tallapoosa County:

Adelia M. Russell Library
318 Church St.
Alexander City, Alabama 35010
Telephone: 256-329-6796
Library collection includes local history, census, marriage records, cemetery records, and family histories.
Dadeville Public Library
205 N. West St.
Dadeville, Alabama 36853
Telephone: 256-825-7820

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tallapoosa County p. 39. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 March 2014, at 18:04.
  • This page has been accessed 7,666 times.