Tana, Finnmark, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tana, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngFinnmark County Gotoarrow.pngTana

Guide to Tana, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Libraryfor Tana prestegjeld (clerical district).  Contains parish registers for the parishes Tana with Berlevåg chapel and Gamvik. Tana parish was separated from Lebesby clerical district and added to Nesseby clerical district in 1846. Became its own clerical district in 1861. For earlier records see Lebesby clerical district. Records available for 1812-1917.

See also Lebesby and Nesseby

Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).  Tana:  1891-1903 (Lysningsprotokoll), Tana:  1914-1917 (Lysningsprotokoll) 

Tana/Gamvik:  1862-1877 (Ministerialbok)Tana/Gamvik:  1862-1867 (Klokkerbok) ,

Tana/Gamvik:1867-1877 (Klokkerbok), Tana/Gamvik:  1878-1892 (Ministerialbok) ,

Tana/Gamvik:  1878-1891 (Klokkerbok), Tana/Gamvik:  1892-1908 (Ministerialbok) 

Tana/Gamvik:  1892-1909 (Klokkerbok), Tana/Tana:  1853-1867 (Klokkerbok) 

Tana/Tana:  1861-1877 (Ministerialbok), Tana/Tana:  1866-1877 (Klokkerbok) 

Tana/Tana:  1878-1891 (Ministerialbok)  Tana/Tana:  1878-1890 (Klokkerbok)

Tana/Tana:  1890-1903 (Klokkerbok), Tana,Berlevåg og Gamvik/Gamvik: 1908-1920 (Ministerialbok) 

Tana, Berlevåg og Gamvik/Tana:  1846-1861 (Minesterialbok), Tana, Berlevåg og Gamvik/Tana:  1891-1903 (Ministerialbok)

Tana, Berlevåg og Gamvik/Tana:  1904-1918 (Minesterialbok)

Census Records

  • Folketellinga 1875 for Tana (Finnmark).  This is an extraction of the 1875 census for Tana (Finnmark). It includes alphabetical lists of the given names, surnames, farm names, and birth places listed in this census. It also includes an extract of entries in the order they appear in the original census.  Available on microfiche at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Probate Records

1686-1844: Records are found in Finnmark judicial district.

1855-1882: Records are found in Tana and Varanger judicial district.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2015, at 17:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,420 times.