Tanfield, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tanfield, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.pngDurham Parishes

Tanfield, Durham
Tanfield St Margaret of Antioch Co Durham.jpg
Tanfield St Margaret of Antioch Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Lanchester PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TANFIELD, a chapelry, in the parish of Chester-le-Street, union of Lanchester, Middle division, of Chester ward, N. division of Durham, 7 miles (S. W.) from Gateshead. [1]

Additional information: Tanfield St Margaret was created 1768 from a former chapelry in Chester le Street, Durham Ancient Parish and originally included Beamish, Lintz Green Tanfield, Shield Row, Stanley, Tantobie, Whit-le-Head, Burnopfield, Lintz Ford, and Hill Top. A considerable portion of this extensive parish has been used in the formation of new parishes, the last being the parish of Beamish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/248 Date: March 1765-1844 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
"The parish register has been lost or destroyed up to 1719." [From History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]

The Parish Registers for the period 1719-1959 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Ta).

The Marriages (1813-1837) are included in the Joiner Marriage Database.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Tanfield are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Beamish 1876-1978 (EP/Bea).
  • Burnopfield 1873-1974 (EP/Bur).
  • Dipton 1884-1979 (EP/Dip).
  • Rowlands Gill 1904-1976 (EP/RG).
  • Stanley see Beamish (above).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

England, Diocese of Durham Bishops Transcripts ca., 1700-1900 Durham,Tanfield,1765-1844: https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.3.1/TH-267-11097-40376-20?cc=1309819&wc=11540407

Parish registers for Tanfield, 1710-1948 available at the Family History Library: https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/show?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fcatalog-search-api%3A8080%2Fwww-catalogapi-webservice%2Fitem%2F122516

Non Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241348.


Poor Law Unions

Lanchester Poor Law Union,Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tanfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 03:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,168 times.