Tanworth, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Poor Law Union||Solihull PLU|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Tanworth, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Solihull district, Warwickshire. The village stands 4 miles NW of Henley-in-Arden, and 5 miles SW of Knowle railway station; the post-officeis under Birmingham. The sub-district contains three parishes and two hamlets.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Tanworth, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Tanworth, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
Poor Law Unions
Warwickshire Record Office reference DRB0019/94
Title Returns of paupers belonging to Tanworth who have been relieved during the past quarter
Description Giving name, age, residence, cause of relief and amount of relief out of workhouse. The returns appear to cover non-able bodied poor only. 1837 (4 quarterly returns), 1838 (3), 1839 (3), 1840 (3), 1841 (4), 1842 (4), 1843 (2), 1844 (3), 1846 (1).
Parish registers and poor law records for Tanworth, 1559-1951 Church of England. Parish Church of Tanworth (Warwickshire) Microfilm of original records at the Warwickshire County Record Office, Warwick.
Overseers' accounts, 1740-1847. FHL BRITISH Film 229133
Account books, 1782-1831. FHL BRITISH Film 229134
Account books, 1787-1872. FHL BRITISH Film229135
Account books, 1819-1821. FHL BRITISH Film 229136
Account books, 1775-1899. FHL BRITISH Film 229137
Vestry minutes, 1729-1821. FHL BRITISH Film 229138
Vestry minutes, 1832-1855. FHL BRITISH Film 229139
Charity accounts, 1738-1780, 1827-1881. FHL BRITISH Film 229140
Order books, 1821-1829. FHL BRITISH Film 229141
Register of houses, 1826-1888. Population census, 1821. FHL BRITISH Film 229142
Miscellaneous papers. FHL BRITISH Film 229143
Miscellaneous papers. FHL BRITISH Film 229144
Miscellaneous papers. FHL BRITISH Film 229145
Incumbents, baptisms register index; accounts, rate books, overseers, 1767-1876. FHL BRITISH Film
562225 Item 2
Overseers papers, indentures, 1776-1840. FHL BRITISH Film 562226
Overseers, charity accounts and deeds, 1675-1876. FHL BRITISH Film 562227
Association for the prosecution of felons, 1784-1876. FHL BRITISH Film 562228
Baptisms, 1897-1931. Banns and marriages, 1898-1951. FHL BRITISH Film 1067553 Items 1 - 3
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72).] Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- ↑ 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
- ↑ 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.
- This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 00:25.
- This page has been accessed 1,954 times.