Tarring Neville, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tarring Neville, Sussex)

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png [[Sussex Parishes]

Guide to Tarring Neville, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Template:Infobox England JurisdictionsfckLR

Contents

Parish History

TARRING-NEVILLE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Danehill-Horsted, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 2½ miles (N.) from Newhaven. The parish is bounded on the west by the river Ouse. The church is a neat structure in the early English style, with a remarkably large chancel.[1]

Tarring Neville is a village and civil parish in the Lewes district of East Sussex Tarring Neville Wikipedia. Tarring Neville St Mary is an Ancient Parish; the history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Tarring Neville St Mary

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Tarring Neville Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

list of places of worship in Lewes district Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Tarring Neville

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.


Poor Law Unions

Newhaven Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/TarringNeville/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 300-303. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 23:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,447 times.