Teigngrace, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Teigngrace, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Teigngrace, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Teigngrace, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Teignbridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Moreton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TEIGNGRACE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Teignbridge, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 2¼ miles (N. by W.) from Newton-Bushell. It was built in 1787.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Teigngrace, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Teigngrace, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1907




IGI 1683-1875
1683-1875


Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241324.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Teigngrace on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Date accessed: 04 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 19 February 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 July 2015, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,172 times.