Temple Grafton, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Temple Grafton, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

{{Infobox England Jurisdictions.
Temple Grafton, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon PLU
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Warwick
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRAFTON, TEMPLE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Stratford-upon-Avon, Stratford division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, 3¼ miles (S. E. by E.) from Alcester; with the hamlet of Arden.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Temple Grafton, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Temple Grafton, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1910 1754-1910

FHL 548399 Item 2: Marriages, 1754-1812; Baptisms and burials, 1757-1812; Baptisms, marriages, burials (Binton), 1539-1801; Marriages, 1756-1811 (Binton). The Temple Grafton records are almost destroyed at the beginning and end of the Register Book.

FHL 555436 Baptisms, 1813-1875; Marriages, 1813-1887; Burials, 1813-1878; Banns, 1824-1878; Accounts, 1791-1875. Includes damp-destroyed register from about 1700 to 1754 with some (5 or 6) legible entries at top and bottom of pages.

FHL 1067494 Items 4-7: Marriages, 1873-1927; Burials, 1876-1932; Banns, 1876-1939; Baptisms, 1875-1979. A transcription of burials available at Temple Grafton Burials 1876-1932.

FHL 246681 Item 5: Baptisms, 1612-1613, 1615, 1618-1622, 1625, 1628-1629, 1633-1641, 1663, 1668-1671, 1674-1675, 1677-1689, 1691-1700; Marriages, 1613, 1615, 1618-1621, 1625, 1629, 1633-1635, 1637, 1639, 1669, 1674, 1681, 1683-1684, 1688-1689, 1691, 1697, 1699-1700; Burials, 1612-1613, 1615, 1618-1622, 1625, 1628-1629, 1633-1640, 1663, 1668-1671, 1674-1675, 1677-1689, 1692-1700. (Most pages are out of order and many are missing. Contains some Latin.) A transcription of the marriages is available at Temple Grafton Marriages 1612-1812. This transcription is taken from Marriages at Temple Grafton, 1612-1812 FHL 942.48 K29w; Also on microfilm. FHL 97315 Item 1: 1949. on 1 microfilm reel; 35 mm; and another filmingFHL 481078 Item 2: 1967.

FHL 367781 Item 1: Baptisms and burials, 1874-1878, 1884, 1897-1899, 1904-1907 (years filmed in reverse order and some are missing)

Parish register transcripts of Temple-Grafton, 1612-1864 In Savage, Richard. Collections of parish register transcripts and extracts, monumental inscriptions, notes and other material.

Vol. 47 Bishop's transcripts 1612-1700 FHL 504471 Item 5.

Vol. 62 p. 103-111 Christenings 1695-1824 Burials 1762-1831 Marriages 1754-1864 FHL 504472 Item 8.

The original parish registers are found at the Warwickshire Record Office, although only a microfilm copy is available to the public. Churchwarden and parish chest records are also available here which have not been microfilmed by the LDS Church. The Record Office website is found at www.warwickshire.gov.uk/countyrecordoffice

Bishops Transcripts for the period after 1700 are included within those of the Diocese of Worcester as a whole. For example, the records for 1739 are found on FHL 291612 arranged by deanery.

Contributor: Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464169.


Free transcriptions of the 1841, 1861 and 1891 censuses for Warwickshire, including Temple Grafton are available on Pickards Pink Pages.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

A tithe map created in 1812 is held in the Warwickshire Record Office.  A copy of this map is also held at the Shakespeare Centre Library and Archive in Stratford upon Avon.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.

Pickard's Pink Pages


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,859 times.