Ten tips on finding ancestors in OsloEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Oslo City & County

Ten tips to find ancestors in Oslo in the 1800-1900’s

1. Use DIS-Norges Genealogical resources to find the sources.

2. Find the people in the census records on the internet. Census records for 1870, 1885 and 1891 exist in Riksarkivet/Statsarkivet Oslo. You should have an address in order to find someone in these. Address books for Oslo have been scanned and are online at Digitalarkivet Address books for Oslo.

a. 1801 census is in three parts Opsloe, Agger and Christiania.

b. 1865 census is in three parts Christiania, Østre Aker and Vestre Aker.

c. 1875 census for Christiania (Aker is being indexed)

d. 1885 Census in only for Kristiania.

e. 1900 Census is in two parts: Kristiana and Aker.

f. 1923 Census Kristiania This data is being added to as more is indexed.

3. When you have found out where a person lives, but don’t know in which parish to find the information you seek such as christenings, confirmations, marriages or deaths, you may find the answer in Veiviseren 1899 i Oslo. Before and after 1899 you may use Sokn og meigheter I Oslo or this information has been translated to English and placed in each of the parishes in this wiki.

4. The church books for all parishes are found in Digitalarkivet. Remember that the city grew and the parish boundaries were adjusted in 1859 and 1879. Aker was divided into Østre og Vestre Aker. If you don’t find a child’s christening where it should be, check Rikshopitalets church books. There were children born there in addition to those born out of wedlock. Many children born out of wedlock were christened in Gamle Aker because the mother lived at Sebbelows stiftelse in Klingenberggata 6.

5. Family Search has indexed many of Olso’s church books. Remember to double-check with the original church books as addresses and witness are not included in the data.

6. Records for all of Olso’s cemeteries are found in DIS-Norges Gravminnedatabase. This is for existing graves.

7. There is a death index beginning in 1894 for those who died in Oslo. Look first in the index and then in the records.

8. Maps are important. Here are links to several maps of Oslo (Krirstiania) and Aker. You can use them to find boundaries for the city and the parishes.

9. If you are still not able to find what you are seeking you could post a question at DIS-Norges Slektsforum.

10. Use the Family Search Forum and the Family Search Wiki to ask questions and find information.


References

Christiansen, Laila N. Ti tips til å finne slekt i Oslo på 1800-1900 tallet. Dis-Oslo/Akershus 19 Jan 2010.

[1]


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2013, at 11:33.
  • This page has been accessed 485 times.