Testing: Page Usability-Marriage Info-Green VersionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Testing: Wiki Usability

Find Abel and Polly's marriage
INSTRUCTIONS: Using the links below, find the marriage entry for Abel Ward and Polly.  They married about 1819 somewhere in Illinois.  When you find the marriage information, click on the link below and report back what you found.
REPORT HERE

Marriage

Search these Illinois collections:

  • Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900 at Illinois State Archives. Index only. (Free)
    • sources include original county clerks' marriage records and publications of county genealogical societies and private individuals
    • index created by volunteer in their homes and by Archives staff
    • ongoing effort; as of March 2012 90 of the 98 counties are complete, 4 not started
    • get copies of records from IRAD or county clerks
  • Illinois County Marriages, 1810-1934 at FamilySearch. Index and images. (Free)
    • About 48 of the 102 counties are in this collection. Click to see the coverage table.
    • largest of Family Search Illinois marriage collections (as of June 2014)
    • incomplete, on-going project, over 1 million entries as of May 2013
    • image copies may be requested from FamilySearch Photoduplication Services
  • Illinois, Marriages, 1815-1935 at FamilySearch. (Free)
    • index and some images included
    • does not index a specific set and is not complete for any particular place or region
    • based upon variety of data collected by the Genealogical Society of Utah
  • Illinois Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry.com. Index only. (Free[1]/$)
    • electronic transcription of marriage records held by the individual counties in Illinois
  • Illinois Marriages, 1851-1900 at Ancestry.com. Index only. (Free[2]/$)
    • compiled from county marriage records on microfilm located in the Family History Center in Salt Lake City, Utah
    • compiled by Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, Orem, Utah
  • Illinois Marriages, 1790-1860 at Ancestry.com. Index only. (Free[3]/$)
    • with some noted exceptions source in microfilms of county marriage records at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah
    • FHL microfilm numbers con be accessed from each entry
    • indexed by Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, Orem, Utah
  • Marriages to 1930 (Catholic) at FamilySearch, Diocese of Belleville Parish Registers. (Free)
    • browsable images of parish registers plus a small number of other Church records
  • Cook County Marriage Licenses at Cook County . (Free index, $ for images)
    • marriages 50 years ago or before
    • not comprehensive, ongoing project as of June 2014


  1. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  2. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 July 2014, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 344 times.