Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Texas
Guide to Texas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
| Welcome to Texas' page,|
the Lone Star State
Most unique genealogical features:
|How to Find Information about Texas Ancestors|
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Y Z
Click on the map below to go to a county page. Hover over a county to see its name. To see a larger version of the map, click here.
David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
Texas State Library and Archives Commission · Briscoe Center for American History · Clayton Library Center for Genealogical Research · Dallas Public Central Library · Daughters of the Republic of Texas · San Antonio Public Library · Ralph W. Steen Library Stephen F. Austin State Univ · Galveston and Texas History Center · Fort Worth Public Library Central Library · Sam Houston Regional Library and Research Center · Harrison County Historical Museum · National Archives Southwest Region (Ft. Worth) · Allen County Public Library · Natchitoches Genealogical and Historical Association
Colorado River (Texas)| · Pecos River| · Red River · Rio Grande · Sabine River| · Butterfield Overland Mail · Camino Real de los Tejas · Camino Real de Tierra Adentro · Chisholm Trail · Coushatta-Nacogdoches Trace · Jones Plummer Trail · Preston Trail · San Antonio-El Paso Road · Santa Fe Trail · Texas Road · Southern Pacific Railroad · Texas and Pacific Railway
- Texas Genealogy Research Community (facebook)
- The TXGenWeb Project provides county information about formation date, parent county, county seat, bibliography, cemeteries, census, churches, towns, history, look ups, obituaries, queries, repositories and surname registry. Also provides many helpful Texas Internet links.
- The Portal to Texas History created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries' Digital Projects Unit.
- Texas State Historical Association - Handbook of Texas Online encyclopedia of Texas "history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 25,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories."
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Texas Birth Certificates (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Concho County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Birth Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Concho County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records
- Texas County Marrriage Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas County Tax Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Daughters of the Republic of Texas Membership Applications (FamilySearch Historical Recortds)
- Texas Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Deaths, 1890-1976 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas Death Records 1977-1986 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Eagle Pass Arrival Manifests and Indexes (FamilySeach Historical Records)
- Texas, Gonzalez de la Garza Genealogy Collection (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Matagorda County, School Census Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Texas, Naturalization Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Did You Know?
- County courts have been established in each county and have jurisdiction over major criminal cases, civil matters, and some naturalizations. A judge oversees matters and a county clerk keeps the records. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of county court records from many counties of Texas. From Galveston County, for example, county court minutes are available from 1867 to 1908.
- Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
Things you can do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- ↑ Texas State Historical Association, "Introduction" in Handbook of Texas Online at http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/about/introduction (accessed 30 October 2010).
- This page was last modified on 11 August 2015, at 18:38.
- This page has been accessed 212,064 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News