Texas Archives and LibrariesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
These archives, libraries, societies, and museums preserve sources, maintain indexes, and provide services to help genealogists document their ancestors who lived in Texas.
NationalNational Archives at Fort Worth
- for Microfilm research and public access computers:
2600 West 7th Street
Fort Worth, TX, 76107
- for Archival research using textual records by appointment:
Fort Worth, Texas 76140
Internet for both: http://www.archives.gov/southwest
- Subject specialties include censuses, westward expansion into the Southwest and settlement of Native Americans (especially Cherokees, Choctaws, Chickasaws, Creeks, and Seminoles), slavery, bankruptcy court, ethnology, genealogy, military service records, pension and bounty land warrant applications, passenger lists and Dawes census cards and enrollment jackets for the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma.
- For further information, see National Archives at Fort Worth.
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Building F 1201 Brazos
P.O. Box 12927
Austin, TX 78711
Phone: (512) 463-5460
Fax: (512) 463-5436
Internet: Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Original manuscripts for Texas while a part of Mexico, as a republic, and as a state, including all counties, vital records, newspapers, books, and maps. Three divisions of the Texas State Library house materials of interest to genealogists: the Information Services, the Archives, and the Local Records divisions. The Information Services Division contains such records as published histories, vital record indexes, census records, and military records. The Archives Division preserves colonial, republic, and state government records, while the Local Records Division maintains valuable city and county government records. Microfilm copies of the city and county records are distributed among 26 Texas repositories.
- A helpful guide to important sources at the Texas State Archives is:
- The Texas State Library will loan selected materials from their Genealogy Collection. For a list of materials available for circulation, see:
University of Texas at Austin
2313 Red River Street
Austin, Texas 78705 USA
Telephone: Reference 512-495-4532; Information 512-495-4518
E-mail: Reference Request Form
Internet: Briscoe Center for American History
- This collection is as large as the state archives including newspapers, biographies, private collections, the American South, military history, Western Americana, and photos, and the Natchez Trace Collection papers from Mississippi and Louisiana.
Houston, TX 77004
Internet: Clayton Library Center for Genealogical Research
- One of America's best genealogical collections. Especially strong for Texas, adjoining states, and Tennessee.
1515 Young St.
Dallas, TX 75201-9987
Internet: Dallas Public Library
- Outstanding genealogical collection with records for more than Texas, including Oklahoma, the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England states.
Daughters of the Republic of Texas Library
P.O. Box 1401
San Antonio, TX 78205-1401
Phone: (210) 225-1071
Fax: (210) 212-8514
- Especially good collection for the Mexican colonial era in Texas, good resources for the Texas Republic, and genealogical reference works.
San Antonio Public Library
600 Solidad Plaza
San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone: (210) 207-2500
- Good genealogy and Texana collection.
East Texas Research Center (Stephen F. Austin State University)
1112 North St.,
Nacogdoches TX 75962
Phone: (936) 468-4100
- Good genealogy collection including the pre-Civil War period, the East Texas lumber industry, and oral histories.
Galveston and Texas History Center (Rosenberg Library)
2310 Sealy Avenue
Galveston, TX 77550
Phone: (409) 763-8854
Fax: (409) 763-0275
- Their strength is records of ethnic Germans in Texas, and a database of immigrants to the Gulf Coast.
Fort Worth Public Library (Central Library)
500 W. Third St.
Fort Worth, TX 76102-7305
Phone: (817) 392-7740
- Very good genealogy collection of newspapers, obituaries, biographies, histories and genealogies covering the entire Southwest. Focus is on Texas, the South, the Midwest, and the original thirteen states.
Sam Houston Regional Library and Research Center
650 FM 1011
Liberty, TX 77575
Phone: (936) 336-8821
- Come here for records of some of the earliest Texas settlers. Also houses county records of Chambers, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto, and Tyler counties.
117 East Bowie Street (P.O. Box 1987)
Marshall, Texas 75671
Internet: Harrison County Historical Museum
- A key repository for locating selected early Missouri and Texas settlers. This was a center for Missouri Confederate soldiers during the Civil War. It has a great collection of family folders, books, letters, diaries, journals, and surname lists for northeast Texas. 
- Good Texas newspapers collection, including many online.
P.O. Box 97142
Waco, TX 76798-7142
Texas State Genealogical Society
c/o Scott Fitzgerald, Treasurer [scottfitzgerald at tyler.net]
PO Box 7308
Tyler, TX 75711-7308
Phone: (903) 539-5572
Fax: (903) 592-6782
Out of State
Natchitoches Genealogical and Historical Association in Louisiana
Old Parish Courthouse
Natchitoches, LA 71458-1349
Phone: (318) 357-2235.
- "French" records from the early 1700's, with an index by the Parish Clerk. The collection has many references to Americans bound for Texas.
Family History Centers. Some of the collections described above are at least partially available on microfilms at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, and through thousands of its branch Family History Centers. For further information see Introduction to LDS Family History Centers. To locate a center near you, see Find a Family History Center.
To learn more about the history and record-keeping systems of Texas counties, use the 24 inventories of the county archives produced by the Historical Records Survey around 1940. The Family History Library has copies of all of these inventories.
The Texas County Records Inventory Project of North Texas State University Center for Community Services has produced more recent inventories of the records of about a third of the state's counties. These can be purchased from the Texas State Archives. The Family History Library has copies of most of these inventories which are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under
- TEXAS, [COUNTY] - ARCHIVES AND LIBRARIES.
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 130-31. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ 2.00 2.01 2.02 2.03 2.04 2.05 2.06 2.07 2.08 2.09 2.10 Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 67.
- ↑ Our Collection in Harrison County Museum (accessed 7 March 2014).
- This page was last modified on 12 November 2015, at 16:57.
- This page has been accessed 10,416 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News