Thatcham, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Thatcham, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Thatcham, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thatcham, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faircross; Reading
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Newbury PLU
Registration District Newbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THATCHAM (St. Luke), a parish, in the union of Newbury, partly in the hundred of Faircross, but chiefly in that of Reading, county of Berks, 3 miles (E.) from Newbury; containing, with the chapelries of Greenham and Midgham. The Independents have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thatcham, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Thatcham, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK

Undefined
Undefined
BIVRI

1786-1905


IGI 1560-1812
1560-1812


Cold Ash parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cold Ash Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined

Transcribed and contributed by Smallbone, K. Hampshire Entries in the Thatcham Marriage Registers 1561-1840.  Thatcham lies on the border of Hampshire and Berkshire.   Marriage listings start in April 1562-1721, giving date, names and original parish. Article in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol.5,no.2, August 1978, pages 47-48 Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h no2-4

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241199.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Thatcham in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,228 times.