Thetford, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Thetford, Cambridgeshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Thetford, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thetford, Cambridgeshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Ely PLU
Registration District Ely
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654; For more records see Stretham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THETFORD, a chapelry, in the parish of Stretham, hundred of South Witchford, union and Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 2¼ miles (S. by W.) from Ely. The chapel is dedicated to St. George.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thetford, Cambridgeshire :baptisms, 1599-1649, 1654-1894; marriages, 1599-1648, 1654-1963; banns, 1754-1812; burials, 1599-1649, 1654-1812; deaths, 1828-1839 at FHL

Parish registertranscripts, 1599-1784 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Thetford, 1599-1853 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241229.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,191 times.