Thetford St Mary the Less, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Thetford St Mary the Less, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Thetford|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
THETFORD, a borough and market-town, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Shropham, W. division, of Norfolk, and the hundred of Lackford, W. division of Suffolk, 79 miles (N. N. E.) from London. Thetford comprises the parishes of St. Cuthbert, containing 1543; St. Peter, 1184; and St. Mary the Less. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.
Thetford is a market town and civil parish in the Breckland district of Norfolk Thetford Wikipedia
The redundant Parish Church of St Mary the Less Bury Road Thetford Norfolk has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building The building is 11th century in origin but is largely 14th century with 15th century tower. The Diocese of Norwich has placed the redundant church for sale and planning consent for redevelopment to a four bedroom residential property lapsed without sale to a private owner.
The church is situated in Old Bury Road just south of the Little Ouse River and is near Bridge Street in the southern part of the town. The parish is extensive and extends beyond the Norfolk county boundary to include rural parts of Suffolk and Thetford Forest see Thetford Forest Wikipedia
Francis Blomefield in the many chapters devoted to Thetford history refers to St Mary the Great 'Thetford, chapter 9: Of the state of the city in the Confessor's Time', An Essay towards a Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: volume 2 (1805), pp. 42-43. at British History Online
Confusion about the church being in the county of Suffolk lies in an incorrect gazetteer entry; The church is in the Norfolk and GENUKI includes transcripts for it's registers in the Norfolk page for Thetford.
The history of the churches of Thetford Norfolk are found in Frences Blomfield 'Thetford, chapter 15: Of the Parish churches in the town', An Essay towards a Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: volume 2 (1805), pp. 59-76. at British History Online
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Thetford St Mary the Less, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Thetford St Mary the Less, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
|FS PRs||Undefined||1653-1727, 1733-1913||Undefined||1653-1727, 1733-1913||Undefined||1653-1727, 1733-1902|
||1653-1902; 1754-1902 (Banns)||
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. No saint's dedication is identified.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
- ↑ Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 04:42.
- This page has been accessed 5,069 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News