Theydon Garnon, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Theydon Garmon, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png EssexGotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Theydon Garnon, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Theydon Garnon, Essex
All Saints, Theydon Garnon, Essex .jpg
All Saints, Theydon Garnon, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ongar
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping PLU
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lambourne
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Theydon Garnon is also known as Thoydon-Garnon, or Coopersale, it is a parish in Epping district, Essex; 2 miles SSE of Epping railway station. It has a post-office, by the name of Coopersale, under Epping.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Theydon Garnon, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Theydon Garnon, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1558-1980
1558-1957
1558-2000
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office All Saints See also St Alban Coopersale and Theydon Garnon meeting (Society of Friends) Bishop's Transcripts burials in the parish.

Non-Conformist Churches

Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.


Poor Law Unions

Epping Poor Law Union, Essex
In 1836 Theydon Garnon became part of the Epping Poor Law Union. [4]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Theydon Garnon on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. From: 'Theydon Garnon: Parish government and poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 271-273. British History Date accessed: 27 January 2011.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 June 2015, at 21:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,631 times.