Thoresway, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Parishes

Thoresway, Lincolnshire
Thoresway St Mary Lincolnshire.jpg
Thoresway St Mary Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Walshcroft
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor PLU
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1726
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walshcroft
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORESWAY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Caistor, S. division of the wapentake of Walshcroft, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (S. E.) from Caistor. This place derives its name from Thor, a Scandinavian deity who presided over desolate parts. It was formerly included in the duchy of Lancaster, and was given in 1644 by Charles I. to Sir John Colepeper, whom that king created a baron, of Thoresway, as a reward for his services in the royal cause.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Thoresway Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thoresway

Census records

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 25 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 July 2014, at 14:39.
  • This page has been accessed 861 times.