Thornton Curtis, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Thornton Curtis, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Thornton Curtis, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Glandford Brigg PLU|
|Registration District||Glanford Brigg|
|Parish registers: 1567|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
THORNTON-CURTIS (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Glandford-Brigg, N. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (S. E. by E.) from Barton-uponHumber contains the hamlet of Burnham. The church has a curiously-carved font. A priory for Black canons, in honour of the Blessed Virgin, was founded here in 1139.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Thornton Curtis Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Thornton Curtis
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438769.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 01:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,189 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News