Thorpe Achurch with Lilford, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Thorpe Achurch with Lilford, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thorpe Achurch with Lilford, Northamptonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huxloe; Navisford
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591; Separate registers exist for Lilford beginning 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701; Separate records exist for Lilford beginning 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THORPE-ACHURCH (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Oundle, hundred of Navisford, N. division of the county of Northampton, 4¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Thrapston; with the vicarage of Lilford annexed. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thorpe Achurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
THORPE ACHURCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1835 1813-1835 1813-1835 1813-1835
BOYD
1591-1837

FREG 1591-1812 1591-1837 1591-1678
PRTS
1592-1634, 1655-1837

Lilford cum Wigsthorpe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

LILFORD CUM WIGSTHORPE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1912
BOYD
1564-1837

FREG 1560-1778, 1813-1919 1560-1803, 1813-1835 1560-1778, 1813-1972
PRTS
1564-1834

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438878.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 17:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,133 times.