Threapwood, FlintshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngThreapwood

A guide to genealogy in Threapwood, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Threapwood is a village now in Cheshire, England. Historically, the village lay directly on the Wales/England border, with most of the village in Cheshire, but with parts in Flintshire, Wales

The ecclesiastical parish of Threapwood was formed in 1817, from parts of the parishes of Worthenbury, Wrexham, then in Flintshire and Malpas, in Cheshire. It was initially in the English Diocese of Chester, but was transferred to the Welsh Diocese of St. Asaph, by an Order in Council, on 30 July 1849.

In 1896, under the County of Chester (Threapwood) Order, the county and national boundary, which passed through the village, was adjusted slightly to place the village in Cheshire.

By order of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, the parish was transferred back to the Diocese of Chester on 22 April 1920,

For information and records about this place, see Threapwood, Cheshire.

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 09:45.
  • This page has been accessed 311 times.