Thundersley, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Thundersley, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Thundersley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thundersley, Essex
St. Peter Thundersley Essex.jpg
St. Peter Thundersley Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable; Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Billericay; Rochford
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Thundersley, is a parish in Rochford district, Essex; it is 1¾ mile SW of Rayleigh, and 2¼ miles N E of Benfleet railway station. The post town is, Rayleigh, under Chelmsford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Thundersley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Thundersley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1619-1867
1569-1929
1569-1906

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office See also Daws Heath Evangelical Church

Bishop's transcripts for Thundersley, 1639-1640 Microfilm of original records at the Guildhall Library, London.
In Copies of parish registers brought in at visitations, various dates / Church of England. Diocese of London.

Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1639-1640 (185th parish). FHL BRITISH Film 413721

Bishop's transcripts for Thundersley, 1800-1868 Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England. Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, reference: D/CR 364.

Bishop's transcripts for Thundersley, 1800-1868 Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England.High reduction (42x) microfilm. Use high magnification reader.
Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, reference: D/CR 364. Baptisms, burials, 1800-1803, 1813-1833, 1849-1868; marriages, 1800-1803, 1813-1834. FHL BRITISH Film
1702645 Item 3

Non-Conformist Churches

Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.


Poor Law Unions

Due to the size and location of the parish part Billericay Poor Law Union, Essex part

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Thundersley on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 17:51.
  • This page has been accessed 4,110 times.