Thurning, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Thurning, Huntingdonshire)
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Thurning, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leightonstone; Polebrook
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leightonstone
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Thurning, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History

Thurning, is a parish in the district of Oundle, 3 miles ESE of Barnwell railway station, and 5 miles SE of Oundle.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288839.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Thurning on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 15:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,254 times.