Ticknall, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ticknall, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ticknall St George Derbyshire
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|Poor Law Union||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Registration District||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Parish registers: 1626; Separate registers exist for Calke beginning 1699|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663; Separate records exist for Calke beginning 1838|
|Rural Deanery||Stanton by Bridge|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
TICKNALL, otherwise Tickenhall (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-laZouch, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 9½ miles (S.) from Derby. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ticknall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
| FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Ticknall St Thoma a Becket later St George (1626) Online Records|
| FS PR's
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1396 has deposited registers Bap 1626-1988 Mar1626-1998 Burials 1626-1990 Banns 1823-1941
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1878 Mar 1663-1837 Burials 1663-1878
- General Baptist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Ticknall on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 5 February 2016, at 03:18.
- This page has been accessed 3,013 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News