Ticknall, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ticknall, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Ticknall, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ticknall, Derbyshire
Ticknall St George Derbyshire.jpg
Ticknall St George Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch PLU
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1626; Separate registers exist for Calke beginning 1699
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663; Separate records exist for Calke beginning 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TICKNALL, otherwise Tickenhall (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-laZouch, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 9½ miles (S.) from Derby. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ticknall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Ticknall St Thoma a Becket later St George (1626) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1628-1812 None None None
FS PR's
1627-1912
NONE
1628-1912
NONE
1627-1812
NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1396 has deposited registers Bap 1626-1988 Mar1626-1998 Burials 1626-1990 Banns 1823-1941

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1878 Mar 1663-1837 Burials 1663-1878

Non-Conformist Churches
  • General Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ticknall on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 355-357. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 12:19.
  • This page has been accessed 2,294 times.