Timperly, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Timperly, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Timperley

Guide to Timperley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Timperley Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Timperley Christ Church Parish (1852) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1848-1888
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1861-1895
  NONE

Timperley was built in 1849 as a chapel to Bowdon: St. Mary, becoming a Parish 1852.

 Here is a list of registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bishop's transcripts for Timperley, 1851-1888 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 203

Bishops Transcripts: Timperley
Film
Baptisms, 1852-1853, 1852, 1851-1852, burials, 1854, baptisms, 1853-1857, burials, 1855-1856, baptisms, 1855-1858, burials, 1857-1858, baptisms, 1859-1860, burials, 1859-1860, 1858-1859, baptisms, 1858-1861, burials, 1860-1862, baptisms, 1861-1862, burials, 1862-1863, baptisms, 1862-1863, burials, 1862-1863, baptisms, 1863-1864, burials, 1863-1864, baptisms, 1864-1865, burials, 1863-1866, baptisms, 1865-1866, burials, 1866-1867, baptisms, 1866-1867, burials, 1867-1868, baptisms, 1867-1868, burials, 1868-1870, baptisms, 1868, baptisms, burials, 1870-1879, baptisms, 1880-1887, burials, 1880-1887, baptisms, burials, 1888.
1647714 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wessleyan Methodist

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Timperley, 1841-1965 Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: C18/4.

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Timperley Film
Baptisms, 1841-1951. Marriages, 1905-1965.
2357269 Items 12 - 17

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration District

  • Altrincham (1837-98)
  • Bucklow (1898-1936)

Poor Law Unions

  • Altrincham (1836-95)
  • Bucklow (1895-1930)

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

Bibliography



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 195 times.