Tippecanoe County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Tippecanoe County

Guide to Tippecanoe County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Tippecanoe County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 20, 1826
County Seat Lafayette
Courthouse
Address Tippecanoe County Courthouse
301 Main Street
Lafayette, IN 47901
Phone: 765.423.9326

County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1826*
1882*
1826
1825
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 20 January 1826 from Parke County and unorganized territory.
    [1]
  • County Seat: Lafayette[2]



Neighboring Counties

White  • Carroll  • Clinton  • Montgomery  • Fountain  • Warren  • Benton


Intippecanoe.jpg

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Tippecanoe County Resources

Bible records

Biographies

Business records

Cemeteries

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~intcpcrg/TippecanoeCountyIN_Cemetery_List.html

Tippecanoe County Cemetery Restoration

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~intcpcrg/Index.html

Tippecanoe County Cemetery Book by Area Plan Comm. [PDF file]

http://www.tippecanoe.in.gov/egov/docs/1126713330_814361.pdf

Census Records

For tips on accessing Tippecanoe County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

Alameda McCollough Research Library. File system on Churches in Tippecanoe County
 http://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tippecanoe County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Alameda McCollough Research Library
http://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm
Indexes to early Court books held in this library.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

[3]

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Alameda McCollough Research Library  http://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm

Indexes, plat books and maps.Misc boxes of original deeds donated.

Recorder Office of Tippecanoe County (original books)

http://www.tippecanoe.in.gov/recorder/

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tippecanoe County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Alameda McCollough Research Libraryhttp://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm

Migration

Military Records

only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Tippecanoe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tippecanoe County.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Newspapers on Microfilm at the Tippecanoe Co., Indiana Public Library &nbsp

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Alameda McCollough Research Library http://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm

Original Will/Estate files and probate books held in this library

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tippecanoe County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public records

School Records

Alameda McCollough Research Library http://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm

Some original materials. School 1848 census, Yearbook collection from this County and other misc collections.

Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Tippecanoe County Courthouse
301 Main Street
Lafayette, IN 47901
Phone: 765.423.9326
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1830
divorce records from 1850, probate and court records
from 1832 & naturalization records on microfilm.


Tippecanoe County Government offices


Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Tippecanoe County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Tippecanoe County Public Library

Museums
Societies

Tippecanoe County Area Genealogical Society

Tippecanoe County Historical Association


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Early indexes, books and microfilm held at the

Alameda McCollough Research Library http://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tippecanoe County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Tippecanoe County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Tippecanoe County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tippecanoe County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Tippecanoe County, Indiana Web Sites

Places

Tippecanoe County, Indiana References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Alameda McCollough Research Library http://www.tcha.mus.in.us/library.htm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 01:38.
  • This page has been accessed 8,204 times.