Tissington, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tissington, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Tissington, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tissington, Derbyshire
Tissington St Mary Derbyshire.jpg
Tissington St Mary Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne PLU
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1658
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tissington, St Mary, a parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1819 from a chapelry in  Bradbourne, Derbyshire ancient parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tissington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Tissington St Mary Chapelry (1658) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1658-1889
  NONE
1659-1883
  NONE
1658-1882
  NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D652 has deposited registers Bap 1659-1889 Mar 1659-1988 Burials 1659-1992 Banns 1841-1948

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1658-1979 Mar 1658-1830 Burials 1658-1979 Missing Bap/Bur 1853-1855

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.


Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tissington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 25 June 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 965 times.