Toseland, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Toseland, Huntingdonshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Guide to Toseland, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Toseland (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of St. Neot's, and the hundred of Toseland, Huntingdonshire, 4¾ miles E N E from St. Neot's.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Toseland, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Toseland, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1702-1812
1705-1876
1710-1812
HUNT

1581-1837
NBI

1581-1837

As this is a chapelry of Great Paxton, some of the parish registers are in Great Paxton. the church is dedicated to St. Mary. The origianal registers are deposited at the Huntingdon Records Office.

Parish Records began in 1567 / Filmed copies of the some of the registers are available through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 1040729

Bishop Transcripts began in 1604 / Filmed copies of registers are available either through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 1041714

Early registers are part of Great Paxton. These are available on fiche either through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The fiche number is 6212748.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288839.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Toseland on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 00:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,269 times.