Traverse County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Traverse County

Guide to Traverse County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Traverse County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Traverse County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1862
County Seat Wheaton
Courthouse
Address Traverse County Courthouse
702 2nd Ave N
PO Box 487
Wheaton, MN 56296
Phone: 320.563.4266
Phone 320-563-4343 (phone)
Phone: 320-563-4311 (fax)
Traverse County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, death, divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1881. [1]

History

Parent County

1862--Traverse County was created 20 February 1862 from Pierce (Eliminated 20 Feb 1862) County and unorganized territory.
County seat: Wheaton [2]

  • For a brief history of how Traverse County was named, click here, then select Traverse County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities
Townships
  • Arthur
  • Clifton
  • Croke
  • Dollymount
  • Folsom
  • Lake Valley
  • Leonardsville
  • Monson
  • Parnell
  • Redpath
  • Tara
  • Taylor
  • Tintah
  • Walls
  • Windsor

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Traverse – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Traverse County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

  • Wheaton, Minnesota: Centennial History, 1887-1987. Wheaton, MN: Gazette Oublishing Co., 1987. Print. 

Maps

Mntraverse.jpg

Military

Newspapers[3]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Traverse County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • The Wheaton Gazette (May 1925-Current; Weekly)
  • Wheaton Gazette-Reporter (1889 [?]-April 1925; Weekly)
  • Wheaton Gazette (March 1885-1889 [?]; Weekly)
  • Browns Valley Reporter (May 1880-1889 [?]; Weekly)
  • The Valley News (April 1926-Current; Weekly)
  • The Traverse County Star (1922 [?]-1924[?]; Weekly)
  • Traverse County Traveler (April 1916-November 1918; Weekly)
  • Weekly Footprints (June 1903-Mar 1916; Weekly)
  • The Footprints (September 1894-June 1903; Weekly)
  • Browns Valley Footprints (1890 [?]-September 1894; Weekly)
  • Browns Valley Inter-Lake Tribune (February 1902-March 1936; Weekly)
  • Inter-Lake Tribune (1894 [?]-February 1902; Weekly)
  • Inter-Lake Tribune and Traverse County Times (1891 [?]-1894[?]; Weekly)
  • The Dumont Journal (May 1902-[?]; Weekly)
  • The Weekly Call (1902 [?]-[?]; Weekly)
  • The Browns Valley Courier (1891 [?]; Weekly)

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

  • Traverse County Historical Society

601 1st Avenue South (mailing address)
Corner of Broadway Avenue and Trail Street (museum address)
Wheaton, MN 56296
320-563-8520

  • Browns Valley Historical Society

PO Box 13
Browns Valley, MN 56219
320-695-2312

  • Wheaton Community Library

901 1st Avenue North
Wheaton, MN 56296
320-563-8487 (phone)
320-563-8815 (fax)

  • Browns Valley Public Library

PO Box 307
15 3rd Street South
Browns Valley, MN 56219
320-695-2318 (phone)
320-695-2125 (fax)

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Traverse County, Minnesota page 369, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. MNHS Library Catalogue; Traverse County Newspapers. http://mnhs.mnpals.net/F/LXCL1JSLR7NUDY96BCCLBC2RACU75TTBTNA8IPDCBJESMUNPP8-92835?func=find-accacc_sequence=081926536 (accessed November 9, 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 August 2013, at 15:46.
  • This page has been accessed 4,227 times.