Tremain, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tre-main, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngTremain

A guide to genealogy in Tremain, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Tremain is a hamlet and former ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Alternately spellingsof Tre-Main, Tremain, Tre-maen, and Tremaen can often be seen.

Contents

History

TREMAEN (TRE-MAEN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (E. N. E.) from Cardigan. This place is supposed to derive its name, signifying " the town of the stone," from the vast rude stone called Llêch yr Ast and the adjacent kistvaens, situated near the village, though within the limits of Llangoedmore parish, and, together with a large tumulus on a farm in this parish, called Canllevarvaes, supposed to commemorate a decisive battle that took place here between the Welsh and the Flemings, soon after a body of the latter had effected a landing at a place called Mount, about three miles distant, on the sea-shore. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, was rebuilt in the year 1810, with the exception of the chancel, and is a plain edifice, composed of a nave and chancel, fifty feet long, twenty-two feet wide, and thirty-five high; the height of the steeple is forty-five feet.[1]

For more information see Tremain at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 396-405. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 January 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 200 times.