Troedyraur, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tredreyr, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngTroedyraur

A guide to genealogy in Troedyraur, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Troedyraur is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

A guide to genealogy in Troedyraur, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The community includes the villages of Rhydlewis, Ffostrasol, Brongest, Capel Cynon, Coedybryn, Croeslan, Penrhiwpâl and Llangynllo.

Contents

History

TROEDYRAUR (TROED-YR-AUR), a parish composed of the Upper and Lower divisions, in the upper division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (N.N. E.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. The ancient name of this place was Llanvihangel Trêv-Deyrn and was derived from the dedication of its church to St. Michael, and from its having been the residence of some royal personage, perhaps a prince of Ceredigion. Its present name of Troedyraur signifying " the foot of gold," originated in an opinion that gold was formerly procured at the foot of the eminence on which the church is situated. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, is a neat structure, erected in the year 1795, by subscription among the parishioners, under the superintendence of the rector, who subsequently added to it a very neat porch at his own expense. Here was an ancient chapel, called Tŵr Gw-y-Bryn, upon the site of which a parsonage-house has been built. There are two places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, and one for Independents, with a Sunday school held in each of them.[1]

For more information see Troedyraur at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 405-414. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 22:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,484 times.