Tregaron, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tregaron, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngTregaron

A guide to genealogy in Tregaron, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Tregaron is an historic market town, community and ecclesiastical parish in the upper Teifi Valley in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the town was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

TRÊGARON (CARON, or TRÊV-GARON), a market-town and parish (formerly a borough), partly in the hundred of ILAR, but chiefly in the lower and upper divisions of the hundred of PENARTH, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 39 miles (E. by N.) from Cardigan, and 202 (W. by N.) from London, comprising the chapelry of Caron-Uwch-Clawdd, or Strata Florida. This place is said to derive its name from being the burial-place of Caron, a Welsh king, who, from a low situation in life, raised himself, by his bravery and generous deportment, to the sovereignty, which he held for seven years. The church, dedicated to St. Caron, is a neat structure, agreeably situated on a rocky elevation in the middle of the town, and consists of a nave, chancel, and an embattled tower sixty feet in height, in the later style of English architecture; the churchyard contains four ancient monumental stones, supposed to have been set up in the sixth century, two of which have inscriptions. There are places of worship for dissenters, and some Sunday schools, one of which is in connexion with the Established Church.[1]

For more information on Tregaron see Genuki - Tregaron

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 396-405. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 614 times.