Trelech a'r Betws, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngTrelech a'r Betws

A guide to genealogy in Trelech a'r Betws, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Trelech a'r Betws is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.



TRELÊCH-AR-BETTWS (TRÉF-LLÊCH A'R BETTWS), a parish, in the higher division of the hundred of ELVET, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (N.W. by W.) from Carmarthen. This parish comprises a large tract of arable and pasture, inclosed, and a very extensive district of uncultivated land, consisting chiefly of heath and turbaries, from which latter the inhabitants principally obtain their fuel, and which also afford a supply to the neighbouring parishes. The surface is uneven and in some parts hilly. The petty-sessions for the hundred are held here every month. The church, dedicated to St. Teilo, and situated within two miles of the turnpike-road from Carmarthen to Cardigan, was rebuilt in 1834, and is a neat and commodious structure: Capel Bettws is a chapel of ease for it. There are two places of worship for Independents, one for Methodists, and one for Baptists. In the parish is a remarkable barrow, called Crûg-y-Deyrn, or the "King's Barrow,", about sixty paces in circumference at the base.[1]

For more information on Trelech a'r Betws see Trelech a'r Betws at Genuki.


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 974 times.