Trentishoe, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Trentishoe, Devon)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Trentishoe, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Trentishoe, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Braunton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Barnstaple PLU
Registration District Barnstaple
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shirwell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TRENTISHOE (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Braunton, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 10 miles (E. by N.) from Ilfracombe.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Trentishoe, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives.com (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
TRENTISHOE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1695-1812


FAMR

1697-1812


FREG

1697-1812


IGI 1695-1875
1697-1873


PALL

1790-1812


TGEN

1697-1812


Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241303.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Trentishoe on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 390-392. Date accessed and adapted: 05 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Taken from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 February 2015, at 17:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,022 times.