Treswell, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Treswell, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Treswell St John the Baptist Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
TRESWELL (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of East Retford, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (E. by S.) from East Retford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Treswell St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish and part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbouring Torksey, Lincolnshire The village and civil parish of Treswell is in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire. Treswell Wikipedia
The church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Treswell, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Treswell, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Treswell St John the Baptist
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1563-1987 Marriages 1557-1988 Burials 1569-1900 Bishop’s Transcripts 1602-1841
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Treswell
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:41.
- This page has been accessed 1,811 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News