Treutlen County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Treutlen County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Treutlen County

Guide to Treutlen County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Treutlen County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Treutlen County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded August 21, 1917
County Seat Soperton
Courthouse
Address Treutlen County Courthouse]
200 Georgia Avenue
Soperton, GA 30457
Phone: 912.529.4215 
Treutlen County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Treutlen County Courthouse
200 Georgia Avenue
Soperton, GA 30457
Phone: 912.529.4215 

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, and probate records from 1919; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1919[1]

Beginning Dates for Treutlen County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1919
1919

History

Parent County

1917--Treutlen County was created 21 August 1917 from Emanuel and Montgomery Counties.
County seat: Soperton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Emanuel County  • Johnson County  • Laurens County  • Montgomery County  • Toombs County  • Wheeler County

Treutlen CountyLaurens CountyTwiggs CountyBleckley CountyDodge CountyTelfair CountyWheeler CountyMontomery CountyToombs CountyTattnall CountyCandler CountyEmanuel CountyJenkins CountyBurke CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountyJohnson CountyWilkinson CountyGATreutlen.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Treutlen County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gatreutlen.jpg

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Treutlen County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $


Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Treutlen County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 53-54. At various libraries (WorldCat).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2015, at 17:46.
  • This page has been accessed 6,832 times.