Trinidad and Tobago GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Trinidad and Tobago ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
First colonized by the Spanish, the islands came under British control in the early 19th century. The islands' sugar industry was hurt by the emancipation of the slaves in 1834. Manpower was replaced with the importation of contract laborers from India between 1845 and 1917, which boosted sugar production as well as the cocoa industry. The discovery of oil on Trinidad in 1910 added another important export. Independence was attained in 1962. The country is one of the most prosperous in the Caribbean thanks largely to petroleum and natural gas production and processing. Tourism, mostly in Tobago, is targeted for expansion and is growing.
Getting started with Trinidad and Tobago research
(Your text or images here.)
Jurisdictions in Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad and Tobago are divided into 9 regional corporations, 2 city corporations, 3 borough corporations, 1 ward.
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
Things You Can Do
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
(Ffolliott, Rosemary. Some Connecting Links Between Ireland and the New World From Old Newspapers. Article covers an alphabetical lists of births, marriages and deaths in the Munster Newspapers, Ireland, covers U.S.A. Canada, West Indies, and England - years 1765-1826. Article found in The Irish Ancestor, vol. 2. no. 1. 1970 pages 62-69. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
- This page was last modified on 31 January 2015, at 00:07.
- This page has been accessed 8,926 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More